Widget Watch: CharacterPal

Widget Watch: CharacterPal: “Filed under: , ,

When Tiger first came out I was all over the widget scene, but lately I hardly ever find myself hitting F12 anymore. Although there are some widgets I find rather useful, I don’t like the memory usage or having to invoke the Dashboard layer. Generally, I’d much rather have things in the menubar, if possible.

CharacterPal does strike me as being just the right kind of thing for the Dashboard layer. This widget lists a bunch of unusual glyphs (e.g. €, £, (R)) and when you hover over them it gives you the keyboard shortcut to type that glyph. It can also give you HTML character codes as well. Taco widgets has also conveniently made the widget work on the desktop as well (automating the old dev mode trick). So if you’re a blogger like me and constantly forgetting the keyboard shortcut for the euro sign (opt + shift + 2), check out CharacterPal.

[Via MacNN]

Read‘|’Permalink‘|’Email this‘|’Comments

(Via The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW).)

Leave a comment